Skip to content

It’s all high-tech when we do it.

June 3, 2009

So with all the email lists and blogging, rainwater collection and micro irrigation, mechanical transplanters and germination chambers, you might be thinking, “Hey? I thought this was a farm. What’s the deal with all this modern age?” Never fear, we still do things the old-fashioned way, especially once we’ve learned the old-fashioned way works best. For example, Lima Beans. One of the newest, freshest, most popular offerings on the late season farm stand is still retro in its cultivation practices. I’ve shown you a lot of our tractors at work, and you’ve read enough of my blogs to think I sit around all day surfing, but below you see what it’s like when I get down to business.

These beans will fill about 300' of row in the field, hopefully providing bushel upon bushel of returns

These beans will fill about 300' of row in the field, hopefully providing bushel upon bushel of returns in September when these are ready to harvest.

This is the same machine I use to plant beets, carrots, radishes, and all the other small seeds behind a tractor.Only it is missing the tractor. This model seems to predate that one by decades, but still plants seeds as large as Limas, which nothing else shy of a hoe on the farm can handle.

This is the same machine I use to plant beets, carrots, radishes, and all the other small seeds behind a tractor.Only it is missing the tractor. This model seems to predate that one by decades, but still plants seeds as large as Limas, which nothing else shy of a hoe on the farm can handle.

And this is how it works: I shove, push, bang, and holler my way down the row until all the seeds fall out the bottom, then I turn around and cover the ones that are laying on top of the ground with a boot scrape. They'll make it, don't worry.

And this is how it works: I shove, push, bang, and holler my way down the row until all the seeds fall out the bottom, then I turn around and cover the ones that are laying on top of the ground with a boot scrape. They'll make it, don't worry.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

